14" vs 15" Hats.. Which do you prefer?

SpazApproved

Recently I pulled the trigger on new hihats for my setup. I went with Sabian AAX Medium hats as I'm a rocker and felt those would fit my playing best.
But this is my first time finally doing 15" hats and man I am in love!!!
I did a small quick sound comparison video.

What's your preferred size and why?!

14s just like my snares
owned 13s tried 15s
actually have a few 16s I can mash up that I sort of liked and did use /out.

The 15s I tried were cool. Old Ks not too old. 50s top (III) and a New Stamp 70s bottom.
Just liked 14s better.

Actually the 13s were Ok too. 13 K/ K Custom notched bottom-
they had a wicked sizzle half open I remember.

But eventually enough fussing around.
14s.

Last edited:
When I went all Paiste in 1994, I bought 14" Signature Sound Edge and used them daily for about 10 years. They were great for cutting through thick guitars and synth pads. Then I noticed a small, 1/2" crack on the edge and cried for a day while drinking beer. Then I saw that Drum Center Portsmouth was selling a 14" Signature Traditional top and bought it (after calling for a better price 😉) and the sound was noticeably softer, less cutting but still sweet. I used this pairing for funk music and its higher pitch fit nicely with that music. When Paiste introduced the 602 ME series, I bought the 15" and the lower pitch along with a chunky sound/feel won me over. I used them for years, letting my 14" pair collect dust. When Paiste introduced the PST-X series, I bought the 16" hats and fell in love again! They were on my kit for my personal playing, but the few bands I played in preferred the 602 ME 15" hats.

At one point, I was playing the 15" 602 ME pair on my normal hat stand, and using the 16" PST-X on my cable/remote hat rig. It required the use of a couple quick release hi-hat clutches, but it was fun to get that much variety in sound.