Advice on how to say no to family/friend gatherings because of time spent on drumming.

Hi everyone,

Santi here. I am new to drumming. I played rhythm guitar for punk bands, nothing serious just having fun and as result got to socialize and meet many great artists.

Fast forward, I picked up the sticks and immediately fell in love with the instrument. I seeker and found a mentor/teacher and have my own studio place but lately I find myself spending more and more time rehearsing. And I actually am noticing improvement.

It doesn’t affect my work life since I am on a set schedule but my friends and family just don’t understand when I tell them I have to practice.

Has anyone have had this problem? If so what was your experience like? How did you put it into context so your loved ones understand that this is important to me. I do want to make it a side profession.

And by the way, when I say family, I am talking about parents, siblings, uncles, etc. I am single and no kids.

I would NOT tell them No. Take time, visit with family… friends. You will not suffer anything by missing a little practice.
Im sure practice is very important to you, but it is only practice. You may one day have regrets thinking back of missing people in your life. You will never think back and miss a practice session.
Go have fun with family and friends… leave the attitude at home.

Hi everyone,

Santi here. I am new to drumming. I played rhythm guitar for punk bands, nothing serious just having fun and as result got to socialize and meet many great artists.

Fast forward, I picked up the sticks and immediately fell in love with the instrument. I seeker and found a mentor/teacher and have my own studio place but lately I find myself spending more and more time rehearsing. And I actually am noticing improvement.

It doesn’t affect my work life since I am on a set schedule but my friends and family just don’t understand when I tell them I have to practice.