Chain vs Direct drive durability-wise

magicpants

I know there are a bajillion other threads discussing these two types of pedals, but reading through them, I couldn't really find what I am looking for.
I live in a student house that has a music room for all the residents and we're planning on buying a new pedal, as well as some cymbals. What I would like to know is which kind of pedal would be better for a shared drumset like that. My first thought was that the direct drive, while possibly less commonly used by amateur drummers, seems a bit more durable. I was taking a look in particular at the Millenium PD-122 and Millenium PD-123, and got the doubt since they're the same price.
To sum it up, I'd like to know which one would be more durable/easily repairable (bearing in mind that we're on a budget).

I'm a metal drummer using 20 year old Pearl single chain pedals. I can literally stand on a pedal with both feet and jump up and down. It's a chain. Its plenty durable.

To put things into perspective, chains get used on motorcycles, bicycles, chainsaws, engine timing gears, and a myriad of other things that put the chain through its paces far more than a drum pedal will.

Durability is not what to consider when considering a drive system for a pedal. Feel and use should be your main concerns.

I doubt there's any real difference. I'd lean towards chain in most cases since that's what most people are used to and comfortable with.

It's a very inexpensive pedal though, which generally would lead to me recommending going second hand.

I'm a metal drummer using 20 year old Pearl single chain pedals. I can literally stand on a pedal with both feet and jump up and down. It's a chain. Its plenty durable.

To put things into perspective, chains get used on motorcycles, bicycles, chainsaws, engine timing gears, and a myriad of other things that put the chain through its paces far more than a drum pedal will.