Very frustrated and increasingly discouraged

DJH

First post. I've perused the site and forums for years, but hadn't registered until now.

Some background first; I had always wanted to play the drums, but didn't have the opportunity until I was in the ARMY and bought my first kit back in the mid-late 80s when I was 20 or so. We didn't have the internet back then and I couldn't afford a teacher so I am entirely self taught and I never held the sticks properly back then, but I was naturally very fast so even though it was mostly arm with some wrist movements, I could still play pretty damn quick.

I didn't play for 25 years while we raised kids and worked far too much, though they occasionally got pulled out for the kids to bang on. My youngest graduated in 2018 and about 6 months before she did I found I had a lot more time for my own shenanigans and pulled them back out (same kit, well - mostly) with those 25 year old heads. Surprisingly, they didn't sound horrible after some tuning and even more surprising I was able to play half decent, but more importantly, I had the internet and realized my stick technique was in need of correction and I had never really worked on rudiments, independence, etc.