HELP ME RE-DESIGN THE IDEA OF A DRUMSET

maverickquiros

My name is Maverick and I've been playing the drums since I was twelve years old! I'm a current senior at the Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD) studying product design.

I'm currently in the early stages of my senior capstone project, and I'm very excited about it! I've chosen to completely redesign the idea of a drum set; what it means, what it is, and how it works. I believe that drums are in desperate need of a redesign, especially compared to other musical instruments. In order to fully asses the situation, I'm doing lots of research on the area in order to fully understand it. My goal is to improve the product, and the experience as much as possible, in relation to the users (drummers like you and me).

In order to do this, I've created a few surveys to gather data from drummers! Attached is the first survey, which takes under five minutes to complete.

Please complete this survey to help me redesign drums and make them better for all of us, thank you so much!

Survey here

I don't want to discourage you, but there's not going to be much you can offer in the way of a redesign because for what it is, the drum kit reached the peak of its design a long time ago. All we're doing now is refining the design. There are a lot of things that are this way -

Hammers - we can do all sorts of things with space age materials and metal alloys, but at the end of the day, a hammer is a hammer

Silverware and eating utinsels - a fork is a fork, and a spoon is a spoon - there's not much else we can do to redesign it them to be better than they are.

Similarly, drums, with the advent of the mylar drum head and multi-point tuning, are pretty much at the peak of design. Once the drum kit became established as containing the basics of a bass drum, toms, kick pedal, hi-hat pedal, and cymbals, everything beyond that has been refinement of the existing design, and there isn't much that can be done to change it.