Guess what I didn't bring with me for the gig.

Actually, I brought the wrong one and I couldn't use it.
View attachment 107887

Also, There were donuts but by the time I finished packing the donuts were gone. :(

Oh man - new fear unlocked haha.

I think i have an extra one in my cymbal in this little "oh sh** kit" I made a few years ago that I'll literally go double check tonight haha.

Wrap one hair tie around the rod. Tape it in place. Place the cymbal on top of it. Wrap the second hair tie around the rod and put it on top of the cymbal. Tape it in place. You now have a makeshift clutch.
MacGyver couldn't have come up with a better fix. I doubt I'll ever need this but (if I do) I'm cool.

MacGyver couldn't have come up with a better fix. I doubt I'll ever need this but (if I do) I'm cool.
I should add that thin hair ties wont work. If you need to thicken the rod a bit, wrap it with the tape.

I carry a repair kit of everything I might break at a gig: pedal, clutch, heads, etc... And yes... Duct tape is a universal tool. If I had to, I could fashion a makeshift clutch out of duct tape!

I suggest using gaffer's tape instead of duct tape. I carry a roll of both in my gear bag, but anytime I need to ensure there isn't a residual tape mark, it's the gaffer's tape. I think I've used duct tape only 2 or 3 times at a show in the last 5 years.

Wrap one hair tie around the rod. Tape it in place. Place the cymbal on top of it. Wrap the second hair tie around the rod and put it on top of the cymbal. Tape it in place. You now have a makeshift clutch.
Wouldn't just a wad of duct tape do the same though? The hair tie just makes it easier?

the donuts were gone
This is the real crime here. The fact none of your band mates procured you a donut whilst you packed your kit is utterly appalling.

Wouldn't just a wad of duct tape do the same though? The hair tie just makes it easier?