drummers who can't read music notation

I learned it, but I never really have to read music. It's good to be familiar with music notation in order to practice certain rudiments, but as far as application it all depends on what kind of music you play. As a rock drummer, I've never really needed to read music. No parts are so complicated that I can't figure it out by ear. But if I was a session drummer, a wedding band drummer, big band or jazz drummer, I think that would be essential to the job due to the fact that sight reading would be necessary at times.
True

You're one of folks creating the dichotomy in thread responses who won't accept the idea that the importance of reading music is situational and not important in all situations. Which is what OP asked. Now you've made it professional vs others. We ain't all professionals dude. Get down off your pedestal and have a beer with us real people. You're just a step away from overtly calling non-readers ignorant or lazy. Yeah I'm putting words in your mouth but I can read the English between your lines even if I'm a lousy music sight reader lol.

You're inferring that, I didn't imply it. I'm just reporting a factual matter to you: reading is a day 1 item. Do you want me to say it's not? I don't know what you want to hear.

I don't know why it's so difficult. There are 5-6 professional guys here trying to make a point about the value of something basic-- to everyone, not just professionals-- and getting this resistance. Nobody's trying to waste anyone's time with something useless or disparage them for not being "good" enough.

I can stumble my way through most any song, with dynamics and the feel that the piece conveys. I belive this is just as important if not more so than the technical perfection from drummers who do use sheet music.

What about the technical perfection of those who don't?