drummers who can't read music notation

Billy Boy

i'm new to this board and am not sure if this has been a topic that has been discussed before, but... i'm wondering which drummers do not read music. some that i know of include;

buddy rich
art blakey
dennis chambers

also, what are your thoughts on the importance of reading vs learning by ear/feel? thanks!

homar_alex

Well, that's strange, as far as I know, Art used to play piano a lot before drumming... Are you sure of him?

mikel

Platinum Member
I cant read music, or drum notation and I'm a great drummer. I think so anyway. Ha Ha.
Do you think being able to read drum music would have made Bonzo or Kieith Moon better drummers? I don't think so.
Rock and roll is about being different, not just copying what has gone before.

mxo721

do what works for you. I like to learn some things by reading "because" I'm terrible at learning stuff by ear, and seeing it on paper is easier for me. I wish my ear was better. reading is a nice tool to have.

rmandelbaum

Platinum Member
reading gives us a common language to share ideas.

if you can't read cool, you don't have to rea to be a great player but how could hurt?

swddrummer

Yeah, you don't need to read music to be a great drummer, I personally struggle with it myself. But I feel like its comparable to running a business: Sure you don't have to go to business school to understand how things work, but sooner or later you will have adapted to know things just as peeps do in a business school.

It doesn't mean that every time you sit down to practice you should have a transcribed piece on a music stand in front of you, but why not learn a few licks from a sheet of music so the next time you're flipping through modern drummer, you can look at a transcribed groove and think about the beat in your head (and then put your own unique spin on it?)

8Mile

Platinum Member
Reading music can only help you. There is absolutely no downside whatsoever to learning to read.

johanisu