Cool drum rug replacer

bermuda

Drummerworld Pro Drummer - Administrator
Staff member
I don't explore every gadget that claims to solve a non-existent problem. But I try to keep my eyes and mind open, and I'm pleasantly surprised when something comes along that actually makes things easier.

Like most of us, I use a drum rug. It never occurred to me that there might be a workable alternative, but this is it! The Nanomat is lightweight, portable, fairly invisible, easy to keep clean, and priced between a Home Depot rug and an official drum rug. Nice to stop grappling with the heavy, floppy rubber-backed dust mat I've been using for 20 years!

I signed up for email notifications for a 10% discount (and unsubscribed after the order went through :) ) It arrived faster than expected.

H/T to my buddies in the Louie Bellson Drummers Collective facebook group who brought this to my attention. Very happy I bought this!

nanomat1.jpgnanomat2.jpg

I made a DIY version once using the rubber backing used to make rugs non slip, this is in a different league. How do your snare and floor toms fare? I'm guessing they don't move or you would have mentioned it but it is a concern to me.

I'll stick to my rug, it is like walls around my kit, all the others in the band know not to put anything (including themselves) within those boundaries. (I hate it when people put their feet on the bass drum and slap the cymbals), doing that will result in probably a broken finger from being hit (really hard) with one of my sticks. (a guitar player would not appreciate me putting a beer bottle on top of his amp or putting my feet on it or sitting on it so why should I put up with them doing that to my gear?

Also some people like to use tape to remember the exact positions of stands/rack legs hence the use of a rug.
If you take your rug to different places, it takes 2 seconds to vacuum it clean...

Last edited: