drum studio business

Lynchie

I'm looking for some feedback... I'm an intermediate drummer who is looking start a business where I would take out a small loan and rent a space where I would buy some top of the line drums, micking equipment and charge a small fee for drummers looking to jam. The reason I thought this may work is that I would love to have a place to go and play to recording or with other instumentatlists and jam. Of course I would have to do some marketing and surveys before I would engage in this type of venture. Can I get some feedback as to whether this would work or not?

They have them in my area. They're called recording studios. LOL

It's $10-$20 an hour to jam. If you want to record it's like $50-$60 an hour and includes an engineer.

Instead of taking out a loan to buy equipment, why not try and get a music store(s) to sponsor you by providing their equipment free in exchange for free advertising? That way, you don't have to buy equipment (1 less expense item) and the store(s) get good exposure/advertising on thier merchandise with the understanding that if a musician likes the instrument after actually playing and jamming with it, then they can buy it for a certain % off the retail price.

I can't tell you the number of times I've sat down on a kit in the store, played a minute or two and liked what I heard, only to think, "If I could only jam with this to field test it to see how it really sounds in a group".

Playing it in the store is one thing, actually playing live in a group is something totally different.

Just a thought.....