Noob questions.

Discount Bassy

Howdy. I am starting to think pretty hard about getting a kit, very likely used. I am new to the drumming business, but not to music. I play/have gigged playing electric bass (5 string and fretless 6), baritone saxophone, flute, keys and clarinet. I've lived in a few situations where there was a drum kit upon which to tap, but never had a chance to really get down to much other than keeping straight time and fooling around. I'm finally in a situation where I can manage to get my own kit and spend some time learning. So...where do I start with used drum options? Brands? Things to look for? I can belly up north of a grand into this investment, but not much more. I'd like to stick to the basic kit, putting off cymbals other than a high hat and maybe even delay the ride for a while. Learn me up.

Anything that says Pearl, Tama, Yamaha, PDP, DW, Sonor, Premier, Mapex, or any of the name brands. Manufacturing is to the point where everyone makes good drums. Really just find something pretty you like then research it.

Cymbals are personal, I'm not suggesting anything. One man's clang is another man's grail.

Anything that says Pearl, Tama, Yamaha, PDP, DW, Sonor, Premier, Mapex, or any of the name brands. Manufacturing is to the point where everyone makes good drums. Really just find something pretty you like then research it.

Cymbals are personal, I'm not suggesting anything. One man's clang is another man's grail.
Thanks. I'm looking at a Pearl Export shell kit from a local fellow in the next couple of days. As far as cymbals go, other than the high-hat and a decent ride, it is all clatter to my ears...but maybe I've just not heard the right cymbals yet.