Beginner: 2 up 1 down or 1 up 1 down?

Chief2112

Just wondering if there is a consensus on this much debated setup, but specifically when it comes to a beginner?

I just started playing a little less than a month ago and my new kit has the 2 up rack tom setup. However, I just got a decent ride cymbal and it drives me crazy that I can't set it up a little lower and more to the left for a more comfortable position.

Is there any advantage or disadvantage of doing away with my right rack tom when I'm just starting to learn to play? How limited are you musically without it or how limited are you in learning songs to play?

I think it's mainly just preference.

I had 10 and 12" rack toms and a 14" floor, and then I added a 16" and played it as a 6-piece for awhile, then I got rid of the 10" and made it a 1 up 2 down and I love it, but I know a few drummers who hate it. It took me a few minutes to get used to it, but now that I have, I love it.

Plus, I think it looks cool.

The best thing to do is try it both ways or a myriad of ways. Take down the small rack tom and put the larger one on the left side. I did about a month ago just to experiment and like it. I have a rack,Pearl, with 8, 10, 12 toms on it normally that I dismantled to simplify things for a while. I'm sure I will go back to a six piece because I hat to see my drums sitting around collecting dust when I could be banging on them.

To be honest, esp at this point, i don't think it's going to matter so much -- you'll probably find yourself working mainly the triangle of the kick, snare and cymbal (hats or ride depending on the piece).
and later, it won't matter so much :D
really! you can play on just that triangle all night long

oh, i think you'll want to try both at different points (at some point, I think you'll probably want to mount both toms to see how fills patterns, etc work across a 5 piece -- but that's "try out" and "at some point" )