What's your practice regimen?

baddarryl

Hi all. I just started playing in my 50's. Have played bass for a long time. A good drummer told me it would be good to play any new beat for 3 minutes perfectly before increasing speed. I have started to apply this to rudiments, beats and assignments from my teacher. Also using a metronome often. Sound ideal?

I can usually practice between an hour or two a day. What else might I add? Thanks

Hi all. I just started playing in my 50's. Have played bass for a long time. A good drummer told me it would be good to play any new beat for 3 minutes perfectly before increasing speed. I have started to apply this to rudiments, beats and assignments from my teacher. Also using a metronome often. Sound ideal?

I can usually practice between an hour or two a day. What else might I add? Thanks

Hour or two a day is pretty good. Should find people to jam with too. Personal practice is a must but jamming with people I find leaps and bounds

Since you asked, I don't use regimens. It's whatever I feel like doing that day. I need to feel like my drums aren't work, even though they are. So I make it up as I go rather than have a set agenda. It's what works for me.

I put on the sheet stand whatever I feel like working on and the next time I sit down I either work on that or I do something else. It's like a suggestion.
Enough To do lists already :)

I must add that I think playing with beginners probably made me lazy. I learnt our 8 songs set list in a fraction of the time the others needed and I was not much motivated to strive for perfection as long as I had to give cues to the singer as to when to start each phrase in Superstition 😁

Sounds like you’re doing good..
I try, and usually manage 3/4 30 minute blasts focusing on different things, everyday.
Pad work 45mins to an hour everyday.
Band practice, (4/5 hours) twice a week..
I focus on jazz a lot..