TrackTalk: Bill Gibson on "Sports" and "The Power of Love"

John DeChristopher

Drums Ambassador
I hope you enjoy this little excerpt with Bill Gibson of Huey Lewis and the News. Check out the entire episode and please subscribe!

Awesome! Sports was the first cassette tape I bought with my own money and I started learning how to play the drums playing along primarily to Huey Lewis and the News' first three albums. Bill has always come off as a nice guy and he's such an underrated drummer so it's nice to see the spotlight pointed his way.

Does Bill talk about what he used in the studio in the longer version of that video? I remember seeing a Zildjian ad in 84/85 where it looked he had Sonor Phonics and a Tama snare. Certainly sounds like Phonics on "The Power Of Love". Speaking of that, I have a promo 45 that's titled "Power of Love" and has slightly different writing credits. Curious.

Thanks for posting!

Dan

Does Bill talk about what he used in the studio in the longer version of that video? I remember seeing a Zildjian ad in 84/85 where it looked he had Sonor Phonics and a Tama snare. Certainly sounds like Phonics on "The Power Of Love". Speaking of that, I have a promo 45 that's titled "Power of Love" and has slightly different writing credits. Curious.

Thanks for posting!

Dan
Hey Dan,

I’m not sure how much we talked about his Sonor kit - it was an early episode, over three years ago and I can’t remember :) Here’s the link. The full episode is also available as a podcast.

This interviewers apprehensive style makes for a laid back interview. I remember when Bill switched to Yamaha and didn't like his recorded sound as much. I missed the fat Sonor phonics.

Last edited:
This interviewers apprehensive style always makes me feel uncomfortable. I'd much prefer an interview with Howard Stern. I remember when Bill switched to Yamaha and didn't like his recorded sound as much. I missed the fat Sonor phonics.