Open-handed lefty on right handed kit

Bamadrummer88

Hey everyone I have a dilemma I would like some opinions on if possible. I am 28 year old self taught drummer and have been playing since I was 9 or 10. The only lessons I ever really had were on how to do a basic 4/4 rock beat and single stroke roll across the kit. Anyway, it only recently hit me that being left handed and leading with my left foot, that 16th notes on the hihat, double bass runs, and single stroke kits rolls were somewhat awkward to play. So I switched my kit to lefty a week or two ago, and while those things listed above were smoother, the lefty kit felt foreign and awkward in it's own way, not only because I had been playing open handed on a righty kit for 20 years, but also unique fills and such that I could do before were very difficult. So, I'm thinking of switching back to righty so I can keep doing the open handed fills and stuff, while at the same time developing my weaker limbs, being my right arm and leg, so that I can play open handed and righty. Ambidextrous I suppose. Any advice on this matter would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

Last edited:
I'd say stick with what you know and refine your rightedness, which can't be too bad since you've been playing that way for 20 yrs., right?

I've been trying to switch to matched grip, practicing for a yr. and have finally realized I do sooo much better with trad grip I can't see the need to make the switch.

I'm a lefty who plays lefty as well. But, I have (a few times) played open handed on a right-handed kit. It is backwards all the way around, but my biggest issue was using my right foot on the bass instead of my left foot.

Just stick with what you already - for 20 years - know!

Cheers.

I think you need to discuss and work on your left hand/right hand situation with a good experienced drum teacher. No, I mean a really good teacher.