Mesh heads and triggers- Questions

wraub

Gold Member
Recently I've been thinking about putting mesh heads on my drum set and using triggers for recording purposes.
The RTom LV heads look pretty good to me, but I'm just learning about triggers and how they work in actual use, and have questions re setup and durability.

Any help would be appreciated. :)

Thanks.

So you're talking about doing an A2E conversion. The RTom's are indeed a mighty brand but there are definitely cheaper alternatives (as long as the mesh is 2-ply or more you're good to go IMO).

As for triggers, well that's a whole other can of worms so I guess we'll start with: are you thinking of internally or externally mounted?

Pintech "Reaction" series heads (single ply)
Roland RT-30H triggers - these mount to the hoop and trigger fantastically.

After trying all kinds of triggers (brands, types and positioning) this was the best setup for me, and the only one I was ever really happy with.
The RT triggers aren't cheap but they are superb.
And those Pintech heads are phenomenal. The single ply is surprisingly durable, they're very quiet, and you can tension them as loose as you want for a realistic rebound.
** Best rebounding mesh head according to Digital Drummer Magazine.

As an absolute novice to electronic drums, I decided to do an A2E conversion for my home practice set. Used Cen-Tec Real Feel 3 ply heads because I wanted an acoustic feel - not exactly cheap and may have been overkill. DDrum Red Shot external triggers - cheap ($99 for five piece set), 15 minute setup, and worked right out of the box. $500 for a used Roland TD-17 controller. Less than $300 (including shipping) for a set of Lemon cymbals - 18" and 15" ride/crashes plugged right in, though the hihats took some fiddling to get the open/closed action to work properly.