Ludwig Classic Maple

Bigdumbdrums

Hello!
Just had to share my latest drum experience. I'm a gigging drummer in the Boston area with gigs almost every weekend year 'round. For the past couple of years I've been gigging mostly with a mid '80s Yamaha Recording Custom (22, 12, 15). My snare is typically a '60s Ludwig Supraphonic.

I recently ordered a brand new set of Ludwig Classic Maples from Drum Center of Portsmouth and they arrived just a few days ago. I went to pick them up the day before a gig. They are 22x14, 13x9, 16x16 and Ludwig threw in a free 14x6.5 snare (an offer I was told had just ended just after I placed my order). The drums feature Ludwig's Atlas mounting system including the Atlas rail mount.

I played these drums for the first time live at my gig the following day and the difference in sound between these and any other drum set I've played is night and day.

Big. Warm. Resonant. Dynamic.

When you strike the kick drum, not only do you get a nice thuddy attack, the tone that quickly follows consumes both ear drums like a vacuum so that you barely hear anything else for about a second. You also feel it in your chest as most of your inner organs vibrate. There's nothing like being aware of where exactly your lungs are located in your chest every time you lean on that pedal. Wow.

The 13x9 tom is very dynamic. Hit it softly and she reacts gently with mellow tones. Start to lean on it a little more and she opens up even more. Give it all you got and she explodes with attack and tone all day long.

The 16x16 floor is a beast all on its own. A perfect combination of attack and tone. Deep tone. It's like an ocean swell during a tropical storm. She surges and swells and you know there's a lot of crazy stuff going on under the surface that you'll never understand but love how it sounds from above.