In sick of this... Sorta going off the You guys are great

xsarith

I'm sick of the way drummers my age and in my area seem to think there a drumminggod cause they can blast beat and do "0mg f@st doubl£ b@ss!!!1!!112!" its annoying. And there axactly like the guys described on the "you guys are great" thread so I'm going to stop ranting now before it just copies that thread haha.

I'm sick of that and i dont want to be another crappy metal player, I want to be the guys on this forum, knowledgeable and great at there playing. I have some knowledge, I find drums fascinating, well just music really, I know who buddy rich, John Bonham and Steve gadd are and I've listened to them all.

I want to be great at playing, I'd say I'm fairly okay, can hold a beat atleast, unlike some drummers near me. But I'm nowhere near the level of playing I want to be at, just cause I've listened to great drummers doesn't make me one.

I want to get in to all the technical side of drumming not just hit everything but learn all the rudiments and advance stuff, however I've got no idea how to start. So I thought I'd ask you guys!

I want to get in to all the technical side of drumming not just hit everything but learn all the rudiments and advance stuff, however I've got no idea how to start. So I thought I'd ask you guys!

My opinion only...

Get a highly qualified teacher who teaches various styles, reading and technique. You'll find that over time you may need to change teachers as well.

Diving deep into drumming requires deep involvement in music. Understand history of the music and instrument.

Understand that technique is nothing more than a means to an end with the "end" being able to execute easily the musical ideas from within. It seems these days technique has or is becoming a sport and not put in tandem with music.