garydolson

I'm a hard-hitting drummer who also sings a lot of background vocals. My band is doing some important gigs and relying more and more on my vocals so it's time to upgrade from my old Shure E215's. I also decided to take this opportunity to loop in my metronome as I recently heard a few rushed drum fills in a recording of one of our performances. To that end, I acquired a Yamaha MG06X mixer. Turns out this little guy has a pretty decent headphone amp, so I'm ready to acquire some good in-ears. Currently at the top of my list is the Sennheiser IE 400 Pro.

Before I take that plunge, I'd love to know what IEM's work great for you. Your recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

Gary

I'm at the budget end of the spectrum, but I've been using KZm's for a few years now, and I love them. I had also been using 215's prior. Can't remember which exact model, something in the middle of their line, $40-$50 range. KZm 10's, perhaps? I sing both lead and backing vocals, and they work great, for me. The price is a bonus.

Reactions: I-P
I also play and sing. I used 215's for years, and then I saved some money and bought a set of Westone 3-driver IEM's. As a back-up, I bought a cheap set of CCA 6-drivers from Amazon for like $60 (they are currently on sale for $40 on Amazon Black Friday). I've used both plenty, so I decided to A/B them for a while. After this, I chose the CCA's as my primary set now. I love them.

Molded IEs will always work best because of the improved isolation. That means you'll have a better mix without trying to compensate for (read: fight) the stage volume. The more moderate levels in your ears also helps preserve your hearing.

I've been using JH Audio 'ears' for quite a while and am very happy with them. I'm not sure of the cost, but I think somewhere in the $1000-1200 range.