Good Second Crash

Lovetadraw

I'm fairly new to drumming (Since last August) and just last November I got my own set. I got a Zildjian ZBT (don't tell me it's bad) 14 inch crash as my first crash. I'm wondering what's a good second crash to compliment a 14 inch? I like Zildjian, so I'm sticking to it. If I can, I want to at least get a ZHT this time because all the other ZBT crashes are really gongy, and I don't wanna break them.. Thanks.

First, I would consider the 14" as a stop-off to bigger and better cymbals ... literally. A 14" crash is really nothing more than a very large splash, in my opinion. Eventually you'll want to get something larger, either a 16" or 18". If you could only have one crash, I'd recommend an 18"; if you could get two, you could consider a 16" or 17".

As far as specifically what to get ... consider looking for gently used pro-level cymbals instead of moving from cheap beginner sheet-metal cymbal to slightly more expensive beginner sheet-metal cymbal. Check whatever passes for Craigslist in your area, and if fortunate enough to live near a large music store, check to see if they carry used gear as well. You can sometimes get a great pie for less than you would pay new for that ZHT.

I have and 8" splash, and indeed I look around the local Guitar Centers when possible. There's a music store near buy that sells used drum stuff really cheap, just never what I'm looking for. :) So larger then? Thanks!

You asked me not to comment on the ZBT so I won't, but you said nothing about ZHT's. Forget the ZHT.....they're bad. :)

Look around for a used A or A Custom 18" crash.

You asked me not to comment on the ZBT so I won't, but you said nothing about ZHT's. Forget the ZHT.....they're bad. :)