Dying spark from drumming for too long?

Duck Tape

Platinum Member
Could there be a spark in drummers that dies the more we play?

No matter how many thousands of hours of deliberate practice, vocabulary we pick up, experience on gigs etc, could it be that our groove loses enthusiasm and perhaps bounce or consistency over time because it's just not as new and exciting?

Kind of like our first love.

I hope it's not true, I feel that way a little bit lately. I've been noodling with jazz and trying new styles in the hopes that I will rekindle the spark in the more uncharted areas of my playing but it's hard going, because they're hard styles to study/learn too.

After 52 years of playing I don't experience any of that, just as excited or more than at the beginning!

Maybe you're just playing with the wrong musicians or for the wrong audience.
I've been playing for over 40 years now, and I still look forward to every next concert with the excitement of a child.
But I know a lot of colleagues who have lost their verve and power by making compromises that haven't served them well.
My fellow musicians inspire me and challenge me to keep up.
And my audience gives me enough energy to keep going.

There’s an intangible authority and confidence that grows stronger with each passing year…I remember watching my late great teacher sit in on a rock song at college to demonstrate a point to another student. I was 18 and he was an experienced pro in his 50’s. It really struck me that whilst I could play the notes he was playing, the chasm between his time/feel/vibe/presence and mine was gargantuan! I’m still chasing the dragon on a never ending mission to improve so I don’t see the spark dying for me anytime soon! :) (y)