Drum Fill I'm Trying To Learn

Realto619

View attachment Once-PearlJam-Fill.mp3

I'm trying to learn the attached drum fill but I can't figure out the timing. Fortunately, I can play it much closer that I can transcribe it, but it would help to be able to visualize it better if I could see it written out.

My feeble attempt to score it

I'm treating the open hi-hat at the beginning as if it happens on beat four of the previous measure and the actual fill as its own measure. The timing seems like it may be a triplet feel, but I'm not too good at deciphering that in this instance. If you want to edit the above link, go right ahead since it's not even close to accurate right now. If it's actually a triplet, I can adjust the structure of it if you're not familiar with the site.

Thanks in advance!
Paul

Last edited:
it's a mixture of triplet and straight 8ths
SLOW it down to 0.5 speed AND LOOP IT
7/4
trip-e-let
trip-e-let
trip-e-let
two sixteens -rest- flam
rest-rest -flam

in my opinion it's partially "a mistake"..
not well executed -the first flam is rushed- the last flam is late- I'd fire him or ask him to sober up : )

xxx xxx xxx xx_x' _ _ x'

RLR LRL RLR LR - flam - - flam

it's AI horrible - the cymbal is out of sync- never heard it on any Thad Jones Mel Lewis - Big Band record - or any live living record - in 55 years,

Last edited:
Here’s a quick and dirty crude drawing of how I heard it.

IMG_0870.jpeg

The snare and hi hat together is a pickup note on 4, and the fill is a 4 beat phrase of mostly 16th notes with a snare flam on 4.

Last edited:
SLOW it DOWN to 0.5 speed AND LOOP IT

trip-e-let
trip-e-let
trip-e-let
two sixteens -rest- flam
rest-rest -flam

View attachment 143592

The snare and hi hat together is a pickup note on 4, and the fill is a 4 beat phrase of mostly 16th notes with a snare flam on 4.
Sounds pretty spot on to me. Only thing I would add...