Bass drum head Hole protectors

Duck Tape

Platinum Member
Here's something I have no experience with...

I just bought a 6" gibraltar Hole protector in store and I decided I might jump online and get some 5" ones for my other drums, I've used the hole cutter tool to port some and others came ported from factory (mostly evans heads).

There’s Gibraltar and bass drum O’s and then there’s the Remo and Aquarian style ones.

I have a couple of the black remo rings that came with my mapex kicks (which have a black ps3 as the reso head), but they might look crap on my white heads so I want white or silver.

Anyway, I came upon a review that said one of them was difficult to apply, or didn't stick and I thought I'd better see what the tribe has to offer before I go and buy a handful of them. In Australia they're about $25-$30 each.

And I am also concerned about using these with my pre-ported evans heads, which seem to have some sort of fabric protector built into the port already, will these things still work with them?

Any and all experiences welcome.

Last edited:
Here's something I have no experience with...

I just bought a 6" gibraltar Hole protector in store and I decided I might jump online and get some 5" ones for my other drums, I've used the hole cutter tool to port some and others came ported from factory (mostly evans heads).

There’s Gibraltar and bass drum O’s and then there’s the Remo and Aquarian style ones.

I have a couple of the black remo rings that came with my mapex kicks (which have a black ps3 as the reso head), but they might look crap on my white heads so I want white or silver.

Anyway, I came upon a review that said one of them was difficult to apply, or didn't stick and I thought I'd better see what the tribe has to offer before I go and buy a handful of them. In Australia they're about $25-$30 each.