Shuffle Groove Research

Williamfox21

Hi I am a drumming student in London and am doing a project researching the shuffle groove. It would be great to get some opinions on any of the following questions please:

1. As someone who has learnt the shuffle and is comfortable playing it, what was your first inspiration to learn it?

2. What tips would you have to someone learning the shuffle for the first time?

3. How difficult did you find it and long did it take you to master it?

I would really appreciate any responses. I will be using any info you provide anonymously in my project.

Hi I am a drumming student in London and am doing a project researching the shuffle groove. It would be great to get some opinions on any of the following questions please:

1. As someone who has learnt the shuffle and is comfortable playing it, what was your first inspiration to learn it?

I needed it because it was called for on gigs I was doing. I listened to these, among other things:

-- Learn to make an upstroke.

-- Practice your flamacues in this inversion/rhythm:

cruiseshipdrummer.com_flamacues-shuffle-inversion.jpg
-- Get a gig where you have to play a lot of shuffles.

I always hated it, found it restricting, hard to play with combo dynamics. It got easier when I stopped trying to whip the backbeats in with my forearm, and just used my wrist to make an upstroke.

I think this qualifies? The first one I remember.

If the research project is so you can learn to play shuffles yourself, I’d recommend going to Ain’t Nothin But the blues bar in London. They have multiple bands on every day and weekend jam sessions.. on drums you get asked to play different types of blues shuffles like flat tyre shuffle, Texas shuffle.

Practice your flamacues in this inversion/rhythm
This is very nice!

Hi William
What do you mean by a 'project researching the shuffle groove'? Like 'real research' or more like 'finding out how to play myself'?

Anyway, here some answers to your questions: