Recent content by rtliquid

1. R

25 or 6 to 4

1 2 3 da4. What is the voicing on "da4"? It almost sounds like something is double-tracked.
  2. R

Has anyone's drumming actually moved you to tears?

There's a local jazz monster in my area. I've seen him with his trio maybe 7-8 times. All three guys are RIDICULOUS, but I find myself just staring at his playing/sticking/chops. Twice now, completely out of the blue and inexplicably, I got a lump in my throat and I teared up. I told him...
  3. R

Piano/keyboard for Drummies

Hi All, I've been playing drums for 35 years, have formal rudimental education, and am self-taught on the kit. One of my biggest regrets is that I never learned a second instrument. I'd like to learn keys - not necessarily to become a "keyboard player" but proficient enough to be able to lay...
  4. R

Yamaha DTXtreme iis battery life

Anybody have any experience with the internal battery? I thought I had read somewhere that they should last a couple/few years. I bought my kit used with the "low battery" (I don't recall the exact wording off-hand) warning. I replaced the battery, and here it is about 13 months later, and...
  5. R

Nights in White Satin

I recently joined a 60s/70s/British Invasion cover band, and I've come to realize that my current ride cymbals don't fit. I need something with a little more wash that can also be crashed. I think ideally what I'm looking for is whatever was used in Moody Blues' "Nights in White Satin."...
  6. R

Keith Moon

How did Keith Moon play? One word ... "OVER"
  7. R

Alex Van Halen

I thought their first album was a game-changer. With Eddie's guitar licks and the vocal harmonies, and of course Alex. I never much cared for them after they got all keyboardy/poppy. I think Alex is a great drummer, but I always hated the sound of his drums. They sound like rubbermaid...
  8. R

Benny Benjamin