Visualizing rhythm as a wheel

I don’t get that at all. What’s the point, and how is that communicating what’s being played? Music is written linear because it’s linear, not circular. If it was circular, then it would be just one repeating figure the whole way through a song. I guess if you’re a complete newb, it could be useful as a demonstration of a repeating motif, but it’s only useful for so long, and then what?

Sometimes these Ted folks think a little too hard ;)

If it was circular, then it would be just one repeating figure the whole way through a song.
Drums on "More Than a Woman" are a loop. No change at all. That could be considered circular.

I think about music in layers. Each layer has a sound or pattern, and they are turned on or off depending on where they are in the song. It's a very grid based approach, more in tune with sequencing than just a flowing line of sound.

Drums on "More Than a Woman" are a loop. No change at all. That could be considered circular.

I think about music in layers. Each layer has a sound or pattern, and they are turned on or off depending on where they are in the song. It's a very grid based approach, more in tune with sequencing than just a flowing line of sound.
Well there are other instruments besides drums, and not every song is More Than A Woman ;)

There's 5 circles going at once at a time thru out that video Jim. There is overlaying circles. with multiple "events" happening all in the same clock circle.. How you ask? They (polyrhythms) different rhythms occur within the same circle (as in Real life whether written linearly or shown with in a circle And you never heard a repetitious bass line? you must be playing a different instrument

Last edited:
Well there are other instruments besides drums, and not every song is More Than A Woman ;)