Recording help

mpairse15

So recently I picked up some DRDK7s, BR1600CD, and misc stands. I am new to recording and am having some issues. All the mics pick up is the ringing in the drums. I can't get a solid sound out of them. The bass sounds like a thud with static, and the toms sound like a high pitched whining. I also can not get the over head mics to work. The files the Audio interface transfers over are AIF and BR2 files. I have no idea how to work with these. If anyone could help that would be great.

Thanks!

Your overhead mics probably need phantom power. Does the BOSS recorder give you phantom power?

The BOSS sounds pretty straightforward. Plug in your mics, and record on 8-tracks simultaneously. It sounds like you have too much gain on your mics. Plug everything in, and put your gains all the way down, then slowly bring up each one until you get a nice clear tone from the mic. Unless you're putting the mics in really strange places, I'm not sure what the problem could be.

The BOSS sounds like a stand-alone recording device. See if you can't just get it to record you playing first. If you're trying to dump those tracks into your computer, those files need to be .wav, right? The BOSS probably has a way to convert those to .wav. But, with your initial problems, first things first. Make sure you know how to operate that BOSS and make it record. Worry about the files into your computer later.

Your overhead mics probably need phantom power. Does the BOSS recorder give you phantom power?

The BOSS sounds pretty straightforward. Plug in your mics, and record on 8-tracks simultaneously. It sounds like you have too much gain on your mics. Plug everything in, and put your gains all the way down, then slowly bring up each one until you get a nice clear tone from the mic. Unless you're putting the mics in really strange places, I'm not sure what the problem could be.