Is there still drumming life after a heart attack?

bobacwrd

Guys, last Monday 2/11, I suffered a massive heart attack. Obviously, I survived. The doctor told me it was what the medical world refers to as "The Widowmaker". I am now at home resting comfortably and my cardiologist says I should be able to see a 100% recovery in time and can resume all the activites I was participating in before the attack...even drumming. I definately need to change my dietary habits (I have been eating like an 18 year old kid for many years now) to a more healthier diet with very reduced fats, trans fats, cholesterol and sodium. So for the past week now, I've been eating like a rabbit. I don't know how long I can keep that up but I do feel I can keep a much healthier diet in the future even if I don't "veg" out for too long. My questions to y'all on the forum is, has anyone here ever suffered a heart attack and resumed their drumming? If so, has your playing suffered? How long was it before you were able to resume playing and do you feel 100% again? Did you have to make any concessions or changes to your playing to allow you to continue?

Thanks,
Bobacwrd

Hi Bobacwrd

In my opinion, this question is too important and dire to ask on a message board.
If it was me, I would rely on the doctors. No offence intended to anyone on this message board, but everyone is different and we are talking about your health. I guess there is no harm in asking but your decision should be made relying on the people who have examined you.

cheers
Scott

Wow Bob, sorry to hear of this.

I don't have any answers, as I have no experience in this matter.

Other than I can sympathize on the diet. I've been making some changes myself, abet for other reasons. Carrots and celery are my friends.

I've had two heart attacks. One when I was 32 years old, and one, three years ago, when I was 65.