Un-doing the caveman approach and turning over a new leaf w/ Moeller

G-Con

Hey all,

I was fortunate enough to take a lesson with Gil Sharone yesterday and we spent a good portion of the lesson really breaking down the Moeller technique.

I'm a self-taught player of 16 years, and have just felt stuck in a stagnant rut the past couple years. I'm a great rock player, and can swing, have a good pocket, confident with a click, all that good stuff. I'm just looking to be more efficient getting around the kit and playing in general. Also I've been looking to shake some of the caveman tendencies and get into more jazz drumming.

Have any of you guys learned the Moeller technique later in your drumming lives? How has it worked out for you?

it's great that you are opening your mind and getting some guidance

remember that "Moeller" is not the be all end all and you will be just fine

...and even if you never intend on gigging as a jazz player....the coordination you will gain by using jazz exercises and comping patterns will improve your playing and make you a more aware player

keep moving forward my man

Doesn't Moeller kind of happen naturally? The whipping motion is kind of hard not to do.

Doesn't Moeller kind of happen naturally? The whipping motion is kind of hard not to do.

Yes and no. After playing for a year, I went ahead and tried to learn the Moller method. I found I had naturally been doing it on my floor toms, but none of the other drums. It took a lot of effort to learn how to do it on the hi-hat and the ride.

To answer the OP's question, it took me a good week of practicing to learn the Moller method. I probably practiced it for 15-30 minutes each day. I was not comfortable doing it all of the time, but I don't think it is best used all of the time.

If it helps, I found the Green Day song Burnout to be a great learning tool when learning the Moller (its used in 8th notes on the hi-hat and ride at 180bpm for most of the song).