Re-Introduction

spantney

Hi all,

My name is Tony and I'm actually not a new drummer world member! I joined the forum back in 2006 as a fresh faced 18 year old, posted for a few years and then life got in the way I guess... The last time I signed in was over 8 years ago. I thought it was about high time I sorted that out. Sorry for the upcoming essay but I've had a lot to write about.

Although I've been quiet on the forums, my drumming life (and regular life!) has been anything but and I've been involved with many projects during this time frame.

Quick synopsis about me - I'm now 31 years old, from the UK, an IT systems engineer by trade, have a wonderful wife, a dog and 2 cats. Drums/Music is still my main passion in life and has been for 20 years now (gulp!), although I have an equally expensive and time consuming hobby in the form of cars too. My wife is very understanding & one in a million!

Enough about me, this is a drum forum after all. Back when I was last active on the forum, I was in a originals metal band called 'Breathe New Life' and had in my possession 2 lovely Mapex Saturn kits, one kit for the road and one kit for home. Well with BNL we ended up recording an album although it was a very localized release on CD and I think has long since dropped of iTunes. I still have several copies for sentimental purposes but the experience of playing metal & furthering my technique was very addictive and when BNL dissolved later in 2011, I wanted to continue down that route and with the BNL guitarist, I joined a metal band called 'Bury All Rivals'.

A quick break in text for a couple of pictures. This is my sorely missed Mapex Saturn III in silver sparkle which I used to record the album with BNL.

Specs wise it was (IIRC). 8x7 rack, 10x8 rack, 12 x 8 rack, 16 x 14 floor and 20 x 20 kick. I also used a DDrum Dominion Ash limited edition 13 x 7 snare drum which I still own.