How to play the hi-hat correctly?

Strange

Hello! I've been playing for a few years and I'm finally starting to give lessons. I need some input on how to play the hi-hats correctly.

My student is a complete beginner and I absolutely want him to have good fundamentals, I don't want him injured or with pain, so I have been researching a lot on technique. I just can't find the answers I need regarding the hi-hat, especially on if you should play more with your wrists or with your arms. Should you use more your arm or the wrist? What should the hi-hat height be? (I've found everyone just uses what they like) Is American grip ok or how you should turn your hand to hit them?

Of course, I know how to play the hi-hat myself. The thing is, it is quite complicated to look at yourself and figure out how to explain stuff correctly after years of having it learned for the first time. I also got injured recently and I've been struggling to find a comfortable sweet spot where it won't hurt my tendons. I've found that a "natural" mix of wrist and arm movement is comfortable for slow grooves and Moller might be good for fast ones.

Anyways, thanks for any advice you can give me!

Should you use more your arm or the wrist?

Depends on what you are trying to accomplish. Different stroke types are better for different volumes and tempos.

What should the hi-hat height be?

Comfortable. Out of the way of the left hand.