Heads - EC2 vs G2... I am not happy with my current heads.

Sopranos

Hey DrummerWorld Community -

I currently have a set of Evans EC2 coated but I am not completely happy with the "plasticky" sound/attack of the head.... edit: I am referring to my toms.

With that said, I am wondering about the EC2 clear or trying the G2 coated.... in either case I would also use the recommended reso head as well. Since I am playing in a bedroom I can use the slight muffling of a coated head or the built in ring of the EC2's but I'm not a fan of the plastic feel of the EC2 frosted. I like a pretty deep thud with a nice tone and not too much overtones since I already have a challenge of room acoustics.

Any advice or experience with the differences between these heads would be appreciated.

BTW - I have a new Pearl Masters MCX maple kit in case certain heads are a better fit.

TIA!

Last edited:
I have used G2's in the past and didn't care for them. But it might have been the drums more than the heads. I am now using clear EC2's now and this is the second set I have had, they take a beating and last a long time, 8 months on the last ones, they saw a lot of work last year, and now 7 on these. They tune quickly and easily. And the mix of resonation and overtones is pretty nice. These are clear, and have more attack than a coated head I am sure. I know the plastic sounding attack you speak of, and don't feel like i get that from these.

Despite what Evans says--that their frosted coating is identical to their white coating except for the pigment--I have consistently found that the frosty coating gives exactly what you say it does, a plasticky attack.

If I were you I'd pick up one of each of the heads you're considering (EC2 clear and G2 coated) for the same drum, say a 12". Try them one after the other and you'll get a pretty good idea what a set of them will sound like without having to invest in a whole set of heads you might end up not liking.