Complete Newbie - Drum Pad or Electronic Drum for Practice?

Drausin

Hi all,

I've been singing for close to 9 years, but I've also wanted to pick up an instrument and I think I might want to do drums for fun.

Only problems are, this is a new idea so I don't want to invest a whole lot in the beginning, and I live in a dorm so I need to be quiet.

From other forums I've read, they suggest one of two things: either buy a practice pad, or buy a guitar hero: world tour set, hook it up to your computer, and practice. Which do you think would be more practical for someone in my position? Do you have any other suggestions?

Thanks so much!!

Just set your pillows up on your bed as if they were a snare, toms, cymbals, etc and get some sticks and see what you think. Play along to some songs or something and if the love for drums arises then it's off to the music store with all your money

I'm a Newbie too, about 6 months into lessons, and I can tell you that for about the first 3 months with my instructor, we worked exclusively on a practice pad. It was inexpensive, picked it up for about $40.00. That and a pair of $8 sticks and I was set.

I will say I also had a basic acoustic kit at home that I would bang around on, having no idea what I was doing, but all of my real learning of rudiments started on the pad. So a practice pad would definitely be the way to go in my opinion.

Good luck and happy drumming!

Just set your pillows up on your bed as if they were a snare, toms, cymbals, etc and get some sticks and see what you think. Play along to some songs or something and if the love for drums arises then it's off to the music store with all your money