Do any drummers actually enjoy performing on e-kits?

Paul Blood

So the band leader just bought one of these for me to play our gigs with:

He didn’t really give me any choice in the matter, but seemed confident I‘d love it. I think of electric drums as good for home practice but not really great for performance.

just for the record, I never get complaints about my volume or sound. Anyways, the band leader says an electric kit will be a good selling point for future venues, and will easier than using microphones on acoustic drums, better for live streaming ….. Oh well, it’s not my money.

Any tips on adapting to e kits? We do use in ear monitors, no stage monitor, if that makes a difference.

My maiden voyage with this kit is this weekend. No rehearsal, I’m just going cold. Wish me luck!

"Do any drummers actually enjoy performing on e-kits?"

Well, I've been doing it since 1986.... so, yes, yes I do. Much more fun than acoustics, I'd say (and I gig both). But they are TOTALLY different instruments and I don't limit myself to having one emulate the other :) (you don't buy a synth and only use the piano preset ;) and edrums are basically a synth you hit...)

Last edited:
I've done quite a number of live performances with them. Enjoyed them? Never as much as acoustic. Somehow the gigs weren't as fun either. I imagine the HH response to be the same as the previous gen, so I'd skip on any fancy HH barks, etc. Really quiet buildups don't work that well either. Cymbals, drums, all will suddenly come in and with cymbals, they will still sound choppy. Band leader is right, so far as an easier sell, but that's about it