K vs A

In the early 80's I had mostly A's. At the time they were easier to find in the shops and Paiste were more expensive.
I was doing gigs and studio work. I was never in love with the A's they just filled a function. Then I signed an endorsement with Zildjian and the artist rep brought a bag of K's to the studio with a strong recommendation I switch to them. Well I never looked back. They sounded great to me and recorded much better than the A's.
I played some long tours on a very loud stage and used K's (especially Dark K's) the whole time.

Back when I played Zildjian I kept a set of K. Cons and a set of the redesigned As. Now that I've switched to Paiste I have a set of the Masters for darker things and a set of Modern Essentials for the brighter things. It's a strategy that's worked for me.

But I mean, OTOH, I don't hear THAT much difference between the standard Zildjian K and the regular As. In order to feel like I was getting that sort of spread, I needed to do K Cons.

don't let anyone

kid ya even with all their Issues
Zildjian knows how to make cymbals,.
Even when I try to kid ya ; )

that's a buyable 20 at 2062g.
AK's most if not all are Expensive---makes you want to go either whole hog into old Ks or passive into handmade Turkish makes (Bosphor.cough) at 1/2 price used of a new AK.

The Price is steep for a New or used AK.
Hard to steal

(by AK I mean Avedis K distinct from pre-78 Turkish K)

Last edited:
They're both good and versatile and you can't go wrong with either one, no matter the genre.

I do slightly prefer A's (love New Beats and Medium Rides) but a 17" K Dark Thin is something special as well.

I don't like the Customs as much on both sides.