The Jazz Ride Cymbal Beat

great lesson as always Andrew

I had a great teacher named Fred Dinkins who used to tell me .....play your ride cymbal along with Jimmy Cobb and maybe one day you will be able to play along with Elvin Jones

I didnt know what he meant until I started doing it

I love to play ride cymbal along with these guys to really get a feel for where they place their quarter notes

some of my favorites to practice to would be
Jimmy Cobb
Roy Haynes
Philly Joe
Art Blakey
Ed Blackwell
Mel Lewis
and actually Steve Gadd.....love how he places his quarter note

I always get excited when you start a thread, Andrew, because I know I'm gonna love it.

I studied with a drummer who studied with Art. My teacher traveled to NYC as a young man and made it his mission to meet Art and get some mentoring from one of his idols. He hung out in front of Art's home, begging him to teach him something. One day, Art invited him in and my teacher got his wish. As it turned out, my teacher wound up staying at Art's place for a week and learned not only a lot about music, but about life.

The funny thing about ride cymbal playing is there are different ways to get there. I remember my teacher talking about accenting 2 and 4, but then I recall reading a piece by Chuck Israels, written from a bassist's perspective, where he talked about the importance of accenting the quarter note pulse. Of course, if you listen to Elvin and Max, you can't get much more different, right? There are different paths and more than one way to swing.