Starclassic or Neusonic?

___

Can't play well with others
I currently own a Renown, a Design, and a Pearl DMP. I love Ludwig, but the Starclassics are phenomenal. Question: is the Tama worth another $300-$400 over the Neusonic (Ludwig changed the spurs on the new releases)? I enjoy playing rock and psychedelic jazz. Every genre sounds good with the Renown, but who among us is satisfied with only 3 kits? ?

Caveats: I don’t gig (I could) and I’m not a pro. I just enjoy playing and I’m not married, so I buy what I want, not necessarily need. DW has great build quality, but they don’t speak to me sonically. I love the heritage brands and I don’t think DW has their style or panache despite their pro roster. As such, the DW gets returned (just bought it). It was an experiment buying it.

Also in queue is the AQ2 Safari. The Midtown, Breakbeats, Club Jam, and SC aren’t in its league.

why would you get another mid level kit, it's pointless. Get a great kit, try quality over quantity. Also have you thought of improving your playing instead of buying more kits? Buying stuff is fun but it won't be as rewarding as playing good effortlessly and knowing your stuff. I've discovered that I can almost play anything I want with 1 kit, and wherever I need a different kit, it's not because of the wood, color, shell construction or hardware, it's because of the size.

Nobody's going to stop you from buying a new kit, but ask yourself if you really should just because you can.

All true, of course. I’ve decided to stick with the ones I brought to the dance (sans the DW). I’ve been playing for 30 years, so describing myself as an amateur only means I don’t get paid for it. It’s just for love of the instrument.