Agop "Mantra" ride

Larry

"Uncle Larry"
So I've sort of been chasing jazz cymbal tones for a few years now. I got a Mantra ride like 2 years ago and I just love this thing to death. To me it is definitely a quintessential jazz ride tone. I'm no expert on jazz ride tones, but I know what I like, and I really dig this Mantra

I was wondering if anyone else out there in drummerland uses one

I did have to use a little tape, as the wash can definitely get overpowering. But the bell is THE best bell I ever owned (and ever heard). It crashes like a dream too, exactly what I want in a ride crash. It's very complex and it yields many many unique tones depending on how I touch it with the stick. If I want a washy cymbal, it does that too...a little too good. But tape puts it right where I want it. I used to be against the tape thing, but I do what I gotta do for the results I'm after.

So anyone rocking Mantra rides?

Here's a taste:

That does sound good. And I can understand the tape, depending on the room acoustics. Definitely makes me want this next in my collection. I have one large Istanbul ride that I never play, so I forget the model.

I've been loving Istanbul cymbals I don't have a mantra though I've got a couple mehmets a 21' Turk jazz sizzle that I really enjoy and some Sahra hats. Really want to pick up a 26" ride.

I really dig the Agops. I had a nice Mehmet hi hat set, but I don't have any hands on with any other Mehmets. The Turks know their cymbals. I love that all my Istanbul rides have great bells and crash perfectly, in addition to their great ride tone. I wouldn't use the Mantra for my gigs though. It's more of a lower volume small venue or recording cymbal. It's nuance would mostly get lost with a loud band IMO. My Agop crashes open up pretty quick. Good for recording but I like a crash with a little longer bloom for my gigs. I just really enjoy them in my studio.