DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 03-12-2019, 03:20 PM
Platinum Member

Default Are there simple things you struggle with even though you've been playing a while?

Another thread gave me the idea for this one. Is there anything that you feel is simple and yet you struggle with it even though you've been playing a while?

For example, I've been playing drums for about 25 years now, and I still struggle with tuning at times...especially the snare. I tend to overtigthen the heads and the strainer, then I sit there and wonder why my snare sounds choked out.

[digression] The snare at my church is REALLY dialed in darn-near perfect, so I took my drum dial in there and measured the tension. The top head is set at 85, and the reso is at 73. I tuned three of my snares to the same settings, loosened the strainers, and they sound great! [/digression]

By now, I should be able to tune with my eyes shut, so to speak; however, I feel like it's the first time I've done it.

How about you? Is there something out there that you struggle with in terms of playing or maintaining your equipment that should be simple?
Old 03-12-2019, 04:00 PM
Silver Member

Default Re: Are there simple things you struggle with even though you've been playing a while?

Yeah, tuning wise I'm very much trial-and-error, minimum viable product.

I struggle with playing confidently. Like you, I must be approaching 25 years, nearly 10 years pro, and I still over think it sometimes. It really shows in some of my solo playing.

YouTube channel

Website
Old 03-12-2019, 04:12 PM

Default Re: Are there simple things you struggle with even though you've been playing a while?