Other drummer's bad/nasty/uncomfortable drum sets!

Migaluch

I just feel i need to rant a little bit here. What is it about playing other people's kits that is just so annoying? I have been playing for just under two years, but i have my share of playing other people's drum sets and i just can't stand playing on a kit that is set up awkwardly, is in poor condition, or is generally unplayable. I perform for my school's Jazz Band and wherever we perform, the kits are in poor condition or are just awkwardly set up. I don't mean to sound too picky, but i just can't play my best on a kit i am not familiar with. Does anyone else feel the same way? The only drum set that i feel comfortable and that i can play my best on is my own...

I know A LOT of drummers feel this way, but I just don't. I have a one up two down single kick kit with hats, a crash and a ride, and I've had to play on other kits (my old band's bass player was a drummer, I used his kit for practice there) but it never REALLY bothered me. I might have to make an adjustment or two, but other than that, it's not a problem. I kind of like playing other people's kits.

Long ago I learned to just sit down and play. If you cant adapt and make someone else's gear work then you need to get more playing experience under your belt. When sitting behind someone else's kit, tell yourself, I am only here for 40 minutes (or however long your set is) and the inconvenience and extra effort required to adapt will equal a mouse's fart in the big scheme of things.

I have the same problem.. I can't play on weird kits. I tried to play a jazz gig on somebody's 3 piece with no rack tom. It was bad, lol. I was reaching, and missing, that rack tom all night.

Now, whenever I have to play on someones kit, I get cocky and move all their crap around. That might be kind of doochey, but I expect no less from them if they were playing on my kit.