Splashes and crashes...

ffcryan

I'm a newbie with the drums, but just want to know one thing. Do you have to have a crash cymbal in your set up? Can you create a similar sound with a large splash cymbal?

Also, can two splash cymbals create a good hi hat sound?

Thanks

yes and yes. there are no rules, and you don't have to follow any conventions.

two splashes as hi-hats can be really funky. it is helpful to have a thicker splash for the bottom cymbal because you get weird pitch bends if you use two thin cymbals, but that can also just be another cool sound.

Thanks for responding :)

Does anyone know the strength of a high end splash and how different the metal is in comparison to smaller crashes?

splash cymbals are usually pretty thin so they can make that super quick splashy sound like they're supposed to. because of that thinness, and because they're so small they can be broken rather easily so you don't want to smack them too hard. they're made of the same metal as other crash cymbals.

I use 12" splashes as hats on my kit as x-hats. I don't have any sound samples but think of high-pitched, sharp, quick hi-hats with some dark trashiness to them because the cymbals are thinner.

You absolutely don't need to have crashes on a kit. Check out the drummer for the Presidents of the USA, he used splashes and hi-hats exclusively.

i spent like an hour trying to find a video of the presidential band drumset player, nothing on youtube!!

Surely you jest?

Here ya go....take your pick:http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=presidents+of+the+united+states+of+america&aq=0

LATE EDIT: I think I've just figured out the cause of the confusion. Not, the drummer for the Presidential band, but the drummer from the band The Presidents of the USA (relatively short lived 90's act.....very funny....check out some of their stuff on the link)

Last edited:
Sorry, I wrongly assumed the Presidents were a little better known than that... next time I'll throw a link it.