Shaking Off the Rust

kbuhagiar

Hello Drummerworld,

I need some friendly advice.

I'm sure this a familiar story...I started playing the drums at the age of 12. Although I only had 6 months of formal drum lessons I am fortunate to have a natural rhythm. By the time I was 15 I was first chair in our high school jazz-rock ensemble. In my early 20s I spent 4 years in a cover/bar band, doing the day job thing while gigging three nights a week. Although certainly no virtuoso, I was pretty good, and so was our band. Then my day job career took off, I moved up through the ranks...and the music fell by the wayside.

Through the ensuing years I would occasionally sit in with musician friends and jam a bit, but never re-established that music 'muscle' that regular playing had developed.

So hear I am, 32 years later, successfully retired from my day job. I still have the same 5-piece Pearl Export set I gigged with back in the Crazy Eighties. Although I have kept it set up and tuned all these years, the lack of practice has had the expected effects. I can still keep a solid beat and I am still in excellent health, in fact probably better that before, but my skills have eroded. I would like to get back to where I was in my prime.

My first instinct is to get back to what helped me when I was a teenager - putting the headphones on and playing to my favorite songs.

Any other suggestions for a practice routine to clean the rust and put the edge back into my skills?

Thanks in advance!

Welcome. Normally I would suggest finding a good instructor to assist you, but it seems you already know what you are doing. I think you should put the headphones on and just start playing again. It will be rough and frustrating but you will see gains. If there comes a point where that just isn't working, then you should consider going for some refresher lessons just to get back on track.