Local Concert Bands / Drumming in church

PlayTheSong

(I haven't done an exhaustive search of all threads here, so maybe this is a redundant question.)

I know there are many here that play drums in church. I wonder how many are playing in a local community concert band.

Is there interest in starting a thread each for discussion of these two venues and the challenges particular to them?

I suspect church drummers outnumber concert band drummers by many orders of magnitude, but be that as it may....

I'd like to hear from any drummers who do either. Maybe we can swap ideas and benefit from the expertise of others.

Thanks

I've been playing drums in church for over 20 years now. I know that we can't talk about religious stuff (which I really don't want to talk about it anyways), but playing in church is a totally different animal than playing in a band in so many different ways.

Any particular facet you would like to talk about?

Well, for those playing traditional drums, there's always the challenge of playing quietly without losing the groove, unless it's a real big church where everything gets mic'd.

Our church recently bought Roland e-drums, so volume's no longer a difficulty.
I love the snare, hate the cymbals, but overall it's an improvement.

I guess I struggle with the ego question. I want to play my very best, but I don't want people to come up to me later and tell me I played well because in this setting I don't want people praising ME (except of course for that part of me that DOES want that) sigh.

I guess it's nothing that every pastor and church musician in the world doesn't struggle with.

Got any advice?

I guess I struggle with the ego question. I want to play my very best, but I don't want people to come up to me later and tell me I played well because in this setting I don't want people praising ME (except of course for that part of me that DOES want that) sigh.