best drum school?

drummerwhohasadog

I have only been playing drums for a year but they have more or less taken a hold of me and become my true passion. I want to learn how to play professionally so that I can do what I love for a living.

I am wondering where would be the best place to do this?
A technical school where I can focus on my instrument such as berklee or LAMA?
A university such as university of washington or seattle pacific university? (im from WA)

p.s. I'm not trying to use drums as a scapegoat for a job, I really am serious about making this my profession.

Have you ever taken any formal lessons and how old are you.

I can tell you right now that getting into any music school is extremely difficult.

as for a job with it, making a living as a musician is not an easy one and very few can do it, even those who have gone to Berkley, Juliard and such. For every one drummer that is lucky enough to make a touring group or steady studio gig there are 1000's more that are still struggling and trying to make money at it.

I'm not trying to be a downer but the reality is it's a very tough thing to make a living doing even if you attend the most prestigous schools in the country.

My advice....when you are ready for a band, find a singer who is really, really good. Half the battle is finding a great singer. There is a reason why so many bands don't go anywhere beyond the local clubs and charity events. You can be the greatest drummer in the world. It don't matter. You have to have a great singer with a cutting edge originality to his/her voice.

Sorry, I don't know nothing about music schools.

I'm 19, I took formal drum lessons for about 6 months, guitar lessons for a few years.
I don't mean to brag or anything but I honestly have an aptitude for music, especially drums, and can learn thins very quickly.