What do you think about the DW Drums Logo?

Nugget

I'm a graphic designer and I find the DW logo to be a very interesting one.

But before posting interesting facts about it, tell me what you think about it. It would be interesting to see if drummers perceive as I do.

This is ALL opinion:

It's OK, it doesn't make me drool. It has some classic elements to it, the feather thingys. It doesn't knock me out because the details are so small, you have to be right on top of it to really make anything out. From a distance forget it. The font they do the DW initials lacks personality, class.

Plus the logos and lugs cover up too much real estate. For thin shells with stamped hoops, those drums are heavy. It's a lot of metal weight. Must not matter much, because they will resonate a long time if you let it.

Still if DW changed their lugs and logo's I know I'd cheer. Those lugs are so labor intensive to get really clean.

Help me out here DW. You're breaking my back with lugs that are a mother to polish.

The Tama Starclassic logo, however they do that, is classy IMO. So is the Vintage Rogers script logo.

If DW changed their lugs and badges, I'd bet most would cheer. Surely they can do better than that.

I'd like to see it in the die cast hoop, an engraved? embossed? logo that could be colored in. I don't like anything covering up the wood. Or combine the logo with the lug. Make a really great standout lug with real style in the form of a company logo (that's easy to clean!) Are there no creative people? Just stay off the friggin wood! Duh!

But back to the design, even up close, it's just OK. I give it an even 5.

I never really cared until I bought a set. The logo looked childish to me, and that bothered me. I also hate their large lugs...I want to see the drum, not big round circles and a dorky looking badge. On some smaller drums, the drum almost gets lost between all that other crap.