excitement level

Larry

"Uncle Larry"
I'm interested in knowing at what excitement level does everyone play at? I find the more "detached" I am, the more command I have. Not that I'm always like that, but when I become excited, I crash harder, play louder. I don't like it. I have to make a conscious effort to not get excited, and it's hard sometimes.

I'm interested in knowing at what excitement level does everyone play at? I find the more "detached" I am, the more command I have. Not that I'm always like that, but when I become excited, I crash harder, play louder. I don't like it. I have to make a conscious effort to not get excited, and it's hard sometimes.

I'm an emotion driven drummer. I agree with you. Sometimes it's hard to keep it in check. When I get excited I play harder, but with that said, music is an emotional experience.

Let the feeling flow.

Yes it can be a really heavy emotional experience, but I know from listening to myself play that the more I "get into it" the worse I sound ha ha.

heh Larry we're exact opposites. If im too conscious of what the heck im doing, i try to do stuff thats too complicated, then i mess up, then lose time. As i force myself to lighten up and HAVE FUN! I just get so much more groovy and awesome.

I'm an emotion driven drummer. I agree with you. Sometimes it's hard to keep it in check. When I get excited I play harder, but with that said, music is an emotional experience.

Let the feeling flow.

Oh yeah I know exactly what you mean. When I'm playing along to zeppelin I get all intense and feel like I'm the reincarnate bonzo. I throw in more flashy licks and crash cymbals more. It gets a little way when you need to play tastefully but that whole driving feeling can be great for the music at times. But like fred said emotion is part of music, so don't be a robot either!