Help a Dad out buying used set for son.

JpeBD

My 11 yo son is ready for an upgrade - at first I was just going to upgrade his cymbals and Hi-hat, but found this used set for $600 locally (probably negotiable).

i3itbq8di58y95j93jge.jpg

Pearl EXR Special Edition Tiger Eye 2006

drum throne,
kick pedal,
snare stand,
hi hat stand,
2 pearl boom stands,
zildjian zbt 14" hi hat cymbals,
1 zildjian 14" zbt crash,
1 zildjian zht medium 20" ride cymbal.

22x18 Bass Drum
14x5.5 Matching Snare Drum
12x9 Mounted Tom
14x14 Floor Tom
16x16 Floor Tom

I am a musician but not a drummer, but this seems like a good deal including cymbals and hardware. Any thoughts? Any suggestions? Thanks so much for your time.

He has used this "mini" beginner set for two years, which we bought just to gauge interest, and he is now playing in school band, takes lessons, practices without being asked, etc.

https://www.guitarcenter.com/Sound-..._420G6xSJ-m4fXd-j_kuDhk0Y1PrF6aoaAgUzEALw_wcB

What if I were able to get the Pearl set for closer to $400? What's a good price?

If anyone has time/inclination to post what you think is "good deal" on ebay, maybe I could look for similar sets? I know this is not a professional set, but I at least want to get him something full sized and that will hopefully last him through High School. Since he's been playing on a real set at his drum lessons, he now has "seen the light" and knows what a good set sounds and feels like.

Thanks!

Joe

Last edited:
My 11 yo son is ready for an upgrade - at first I was just going to upgrade his cymbals and Hi-hat, but found this used set for $600 locally.

https://reverb.com/item/7604967-pearl-exr-special-edition-tiger-eye-2006

Pearl EXR Special Edition Tiger Eye 2006

I am a musician but not a drummer, but this seems like a good deal including cymbals and hardware. Any thoughts? Any suggestions? Thanks so much for your time.

Joe