Drum micing for newbies

DarkLogan

Hey guys. I want to mic my drums. Being a fairly new drummer should I spend money on 6 mics or just do the 4 micing idea being that im a newbie. I was looking at getting the Shure PGDMK6-XLR mic package and a TASCAM US-1800 USB 2.0 Audio/Midi Interface. But since I am new to playing the drums I was wondering if im getting way ahead of myself here. Thanx.

Guess the question is what are you wanting the end result to be? Recording yourself, posting video's to youtube?

You can get by with three mics,bass and two overhead condensers to get started, or even one room mic just to get your feet wet.

I think you're getting ahead of yourself. Spend time learning how to play first, otherwise, you'll know how to record some of your worst playing, ever.

I would get a flash audio recorder, or a flash video recorder if you want to see yourself too. I have a Tascam DR-05 for audio recordings, and also a Zoom Q3hd flash video recorder, and both work pretty good and sound good due to the good stereo mics. You can always take those files and dump them to your computer from there too.

Mics and interfaces, that's alot to bite off and chew on while you're learning how to play. I'd concentrate on playing.

I would start with 2 small diaphragm condenser microphones about 5 feet in front of the kit, spaced apart about 7 feet or so. Try that. If you find that it doesn't sound how you like, move them around. Try moving the kit around to various spots in the room. Try moving the mics around the room--closer to the kit, over the kit, behind the kit, etc. This will teach you about how important the room and room mics are. After you do this for a while, you might decide you need some close mics. Start with the bass drum, and that's all you should need. If you *want* more, look into some SM57s for snare and toms.

Couple of inexpensive Chinese condensers overhead in the Glyn Johns/Recorderman configuration is a good place to start.