Desirable percussion between the 50's-70's?

Mosschops

Tomorrow morning I'll be visiting a guy who has three drum kits he wants to part with in part or whole from between the 50's-70's and which were his personal performing gear.
I know nothing of the old fella through my telephone conversation when following up what appears his first 'taster' advert for a 1960's Paiste cymbal, except that he made a living from drumming between the early 50's and mid 70's.

As a complete novice having only just picked up my first drum kit yesterday morning from a fellow DrummersWorld member I wanted to ask you guys and girls what brands amongst drum kits should I be looking to identify within this era that could be worthy of reclaiming??

Ludwig, Gretsch, Rogers, Premier, Slingerland....any of these in good order would be desirable.

I'm sure others will chime in with more, but that's a good start.

Thank you for that. I may not have the time to check back in for further posts before I get there so much appreciated.
I'll hopefully update on what's there with some pictures.

Do you have just "one shot" to buy the kits? That's kind of a LARGE amount of info to learn in a short amount of time. Are you looking for a kit to play or collect?

I agree with Pock-Foggy-Fogg's summation of what you ought to check out. I'll also add Trixon, but I doubt he'll have any of THOSE kits sitting around.

Picking up a vintage Luddy or Slingerland from this era would be great and affordable. Gretsch kits and Rogers kits would fetch more bucks. I don't have a clue about Premiers, except that I've liked the ones I've played.

I don't have a clue about Premiers, except that I've liked the ones I've played.

Ha! Saw the OP's UK address and thought it my civic duty to offer up Premier......I'd be almost willing to stake everything I own on the fact that there will be a Prem sitting there when he arrives......although, I did say almost. :)