The 10,000 Hour Drummer

MasonTK

Hello all!

I'm a first time poster, but I've been reading through here a lot, lately.

I am taking on a bit of a lengthy project--I'm going to spend the next few years of my life attempting to become a professional (studio or even just instruction) drummer.

I know, most of you have likely been playing at least that long, and I assure you that I'm not attempt to sell anyone short by saying it is that easy.

The whole thing revolves around the 10,000 hour theory--that claims anyone can become an expert in any given field if they invest 10,000 hours of their life to it, with deliberate practice. I don't think something like drumming can be calculated by hours, but I think it's an interested theory. The idea the someone can invest that much time into something with the intention of becoming one of the best, and actually succeed. Worst case scenario: I try, I fail, I'm still a decent drummer, and I can take that skill with me for the rest of my life.

I'm 27 years old, recently married, and have been looking for something in my life to say that I can do better that the average person. I think I'm hitting that point where I realize my "talents" have passed me, and it's time to invest my free time into something I enjoy, and can measure. Something I can pass along to my future children.

I played a little guitar in college, but never really learned properly. I've always loved the idea of learning an instrument, and spent almost my entire childhood begging for drums (ironically, my dad was a really good drummer in his younger years). It seemed like the perfect thing for me to do.

I will likely be posting here, as well as writing about my experiences on my blog (which makes NO money, and has no ads of any kind, so I promise this isn't a ploy to get traffic). I hope some of you can guide me along the way, as I'm sure I'll be posting my frustrations and concerns quite a bit.